Our Mission

The Wabanaki Women’s Coalition’s mission is to increase the capacity of tribal communities to respond to domestic and sexual violence, and influence tribal, national, and regional systems to increase awareness, safety, justice, and healing for all our relations.

Our Vision

  • Guide the evolution of systems and policies that reflect our Wabanaki voice on behalf of survivors of domestic and sexual violence.
  • Create a technical resource center that affirms Wabanaki cultural values and tribal sovereignty, and empowers tribal service providers to serve, educate, and influence their communities in an effective and uniform way.
  • Be recognized as the informed source for issues on Wabanaki survivors of domestic and sexual violence.

Our History

The formation of the Wabanaki Women’s Coalition (WWC) was a long held dream of the two Maine tribal domestic violence and sexual advocacy programs that had been providing victim services for over 15 years. It was not until 2012 though that all five Wabanaki Tribes had domestic and/or sexual assault programming. It was that same year that the the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW) funded First Nations Development Institute (Longmont, CO) to provide technical assistance and act as fiscal sponsor to assist us in applying for IRS non-profit 501(c)(3) status. The WWC was incorporated and received IRS 501(c)(3) status effective October 2, 2013. The WWC was awarded a FY2014 OVW Grant to Tribal Domestic and Sexual Violence Coalitions and hired Jane Root as Executive Director. The WWC is now fully operational and looking forward to the fulfilling its mission.

WWC Executive Director Jane Root
WWC Executive Director Jane Root

Wabanaki Women’s Coalition Board & Staff

Chair: Julia Miller, Tribal Administrator, Aroostook Band of Micmac

Secretary: Angel Gilberti, Director, Micmac Domestic and Sexual Violence Advocacy Center, Aroostook Band of Micmac

Treasurer: Jessica Huff, Director, Maliseet Domestic and Sexual Violence Advocacy Center, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians

Board Member: Nancy Soctomah, Passamaquoddy Peaceful Relations Domestic and Sexual Violence Advocacy Center, Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy

Board Member: Desiree Tyrrell, Indian Township Domestic and Sexual Violence Advocacy Center, Indian Township Passamaquoddy

Outreach Coordinator: Donna Brown, MSW

Executive Director: Jane Root